PDA

View Full Version : This will probably get locked

Shadesttone
October 17th, 2011, 09:42
It's been bothering me, so I decided to make an account. This seems like an interesting community, but I really don't know what it is to be honest. I've always been a fan of D&D, but never truly gotten to ever play it (Due to living in the boonies of civilization), so I've been looking up ways on how to play it On-line. Low and behold, "Fantasy Grounds."

Now, I'm a complete and utter newbie to all of this. Everything, really. From D&D to whatever the heck this program is, I'm confused as heck. I'm honestly not the brightest light-bulb around, but that won't stop me. I really want to get into this...The video tutorials don't exactly seem to explain how this works. I just want to get in a game and play with people...Any tips on how to do so?

Please treat me kindly! Thank you for your time, and patronage, at StupidNewbie.inc.

Valarian
October 17th, 2011, 12:38
Why would this get locked?

Fantasy Grounds is what is known as a virtual tabletop (VTT). It's an online equivalent of the table you gather around to play pen-and-paper roleplaying games. It's one of many different tools on the market (Maptool, Battlegrounds, Infrno, iTabletop being others). I happen to think it's the best around, but I'm biased :)

What the VTT isn't is a separate game. The VTT is only a tool to help a GM running the game over the internet. Think of it as a glorified GM screen :)

The new version of the tool allows a demo using the unregistered full download. The separate demo is a little dated now, being a number of versions behind. I'd suggest downloading and installing the software and giving it a go. You will need to open up port 1802 in order to play over the internet if you have a network router.