PDA

View Full Version : Basic Charsheet Help

Brianide
October 8th, 2011, 17:36
I'm looking to create a simple M&M 3E sheet with things like numeric fields for ability scores, a full skills page, and space for powers and advantages. I imagine that I can copy/paste a lot of this from existing rulesets and do some simple editing, but I'm new to the FG setup and I could use some guidance. I don't want anything fancy - just data entry that we can use like physical character sheets. I looked over the ruleset documentation, but it doesn't really detail how to start a new ruleset. I'm starting with the base ruleset. Can anyone give me a few tips or point me in the right direction?

Valarian
October 8th, 2011, 17:44
Somewhere there's the "anatomy of a ruleset", which is a great place to start. Have you tried the wiki, I think it was put up on there

Valarian
October 8th, 2011, 18:41
Here you go: https://oberoten.dyndns.org/fgwiki/index.php/Anatomy_of_a_Ruleset

Brianide
October 8th, 2011, 21:27
Thanks! I'll check it out.

Brianide
October 9th, 2011, 15:16
The editing is going well, but I can't figure out how to remove tabs from the 3.5 ruleset. Any idea what file I'm looking for? I figured it'd be in base.xml or charsheet.xml, but removing the includes doesn't take away the tab and just causes errors.

Brianide
October 9th, 2011, 17:37
Also, where are the datastores? I want to edit the skill list, but I can't find where they are.

Valarian
October 9th, 2011, 18:20
The tabs are in the charsheet_toplevel.xml file. The subwindow sections define the tabs and the windowclass related to them. The tab entries and the buttongroup are the tabs themselves down the right hand size. Remove tab entries and the tabs become blank and disabled. Edit the height of the tab buttoncontrol and the tabs disappear from view.

<subwindow name="main">
<bounds>0,0,-1,-22</bounds>
<class>charsheet_main</class>
</subwindow>
<subwindow name="combat">
<bounds>0,0,-1,-22</bounds>