PDA

View Full Version : Potential buyer with unanswered questions

HappySailor
July 20th, 2011, 01:28
Hey all, I'm new, and I have read every bit of info here on the site, I still have a few more questions If anyone could oblige me.

1. If I buy ultimate, the big one, can I make games that all my non-purchasing friends could take part in? We are a fair sized group and I would ultimately like to not have to ask them all to make such an investment.

2. It says that you can make new rulesets, I am not sure what this means. I am a designer of sorts for tabletop systems, Am I able to input rules for such things, even if they are rudimentary?

3. Is the software easy to use? I am quite tech savvy, I am just curious about the learning curve of the software.

4.Because of the nature of my gaming group, I do alot of things on the fly, (example Party might decide to veer off the beaten and try to find some small random village) is it easy to create these things quickly or is it recommended to only use things that were prepared beforehand?

5. It accomodates alot of rulesets, I see. Do I need to purchase additional sets? I own 3.5, 4, gurps, savage, and a few other systems, I would really rather not have to "re-purchase" the ability to play with these systems over the program.

6. It says we can play securely over the FG server, my router is definitely not built for hosting, is it easy to hop in over the FG server?

7.Most important question, as users, is it worth the money?

I hope to hear back soon, thank you, have a great day

damned
July 20th, 2011, 02:12
1. With included rulesets - yes.
For purchased rulesets they may or may not have access to manuals etc like PHB. Will vary from ruleset to ruleset. They can certainly still join games hosted by you and get resources you publish like maps, images etc and they will see combat tracker/chat etc.