PDA

View Full Version : Using FGII for PBEM

DanLal
July 16th, 2011, 15:27
For all newcomers to FGII.

I've been using FGII for all my Play By EMail games for the last 3 to 4 years or so. A long time anyway.

Reason it works so well:

1 - (MOST IMPORTANT) it saves everything you do even after closing the program at any time and nothing is lost - This is important in a PBEM game, because to keep track of battles, you want to track where things are in the initiative roll, how many hp are left, etc...

2 - Everything is in one place - My Maps (Battle or otherwise), NPC, Items, Combat Tracker, Story line, all there with a click of a button.

3 - I get to roll all the dice - Using the automation for 4.0 is great. Now I'm testing the 3.5 automation, and that looks promissing too. But that did stop me. The d20_JPG version is great, even with very little automation.

What other tools do I use:

1 - A screen clipper of some kind - I personally use OneNote because you simply press Window+S and you can copy to clipboard easily. But now Windows 7 has a free Clip feature built in. I clip the changes to Map so I can sent the battlemaps changes to my players. I also use OneNote to same other useful information about my Campaign.

2 - a Photo editor of some kind - So that the battlemap clippings can be saved or updated. I also use the photo editor to format my maps and create tokens. You want your players to get the best experience of playing your RPG.

Some Backgroud information about my games.
I have a group of players I've been playing with since 2002 or there abouts when D&D 3.0 came out. The Campaign is still going, even after upgrading to 3.5e and if can believe it. A previous campaign from 2000, stopped a few years back and he characters were 8th level. In the current game, the characters have reached 10th level. 4.0e is a little quicker. Currently DMing 2 games, the oldest only a year ago and they are already at level 4. The other game I just started.