PDA

View Full Version : Question about mathematical averaging

In-Betweener
June 28th, 2011, 04:32
I'm working on modifying a Shadowrun 4.0 ruleset back to 3.0 and need to average two stat numbers to get the Reaction number, but I can't get the div operator to work properly. It'll still only take the sum of the two stats and ignore the division operation. I'm relatively new to modifying these rulesets and was wondering if anyone had a pointer on how to perform that operation.

Moon Wizard
June 28th, 2011, 07:26
How are you performing the averaging? Perhaps some code snippets of the function performing the div would help.

Regards,
JPG

In-Betweener
June 28th, 2011, 11:08
OK, i'll put up the block as it normally appears. I've tried the div operator, i've tried mod, i've even tried *0.5 and i'm guessing I just don't have the syntax right or I'm completely misunderstanding something vital.

<speccheck name="memorycheck" source="stat.memory.check">
<anchored>
<to>composurecheck</to>
</anchored>
<readonly />
<target>memorycheck</target>
<description>
<text>Memory (LOG+INT)</text>
</description>
<source>
<name>stat.logic.score</name>
<op>+</op>
</source>
<source>
<name>stat.intuition.score</name>
<op>+</op>
</source>
</speccheck>

Moon Wizard
June 28th, 2011, 17:25
I am not the developer on that ruleset, so I'm not positive without seeing the templates used. However, it looks like one of the base templates for that field is "linkednumber" (or something similar). You can look up "speccheck" to find that template and see what it is doing.

The "linkednumber" template has been around for a while and will allow you to perform mathematical operations using existing fields. However, you can not use constants in these expressions, it has to be a database field.