PDA

View Full Version : Another New Player

Jark
June 2nd, 2011, 01:09
Hello,

I'm new to RPG's and to FG. I don't know anyone who plays locally so I thought I would give this a try. I've seen a lot of new players interested in 4E which would be fine for me. Though I have read most people enjoy 3.5E better. I do not really know the difference.

I am not sure what I need to start (other than the FG program). What materials do I need to get into the game? (rulebooks, etc.)

Thank you

ronnke
June 2nd, 2011, 01:22
What style of game are you looking for?

I run a space opera style campaign (Traveller) and a cyberpunk campaign (Shadowrun). Both are played using the GURPS ruleset.

Jark
June 2nd, 2011, 03:35
I was looking more for 3.5 or 4 d&d. Shadowrun does sound cool though/

I was looking for 3.5e rulebooks online, but don't know which books to buy.

CAPryde
June 2nd, 2011, 04:00
What timezone are you in? I run some Savage Worlds games, which are easy for D&D players to pick up.

Jark
June 2nd, 2011, 04:02
I'm in central US time zone. I am open to play weekends mostly. Sunday nights would probably be the best.

CAPryde
June 2nd, 2011, 14:36
I run an occasional Sunday game that you would be welcome to join. I think there are usually a few every-week Sunday campaigns going on, too.

Jark
June 2nd, 2011, 14:41
I was going to get a lite FG license. Is this all I need? Do I need to buy rulesets from the store? or rulebooks?

I've seen a lot of talk about the parser to get DDI info into the game. Is this just for DM's or does it help players? is there a FAQ about this, I've looked through the forums and wiki but didn't see what I was looking for.

I know nothing about playing a pen and paper RPG, I've only played rpg video games (neverwinter, etc.).

dlinacre
June 2nd, 2011, 15:52