PDA

View Full Version : Deadlands: UK weeknight, US afternoon game

CAPryde
May 11th, 2011, 22:31
Hello all,

It is summer, and I'm a college instructor, so I have a weird schedule. Basically, I'm off during the days, but there is a strong chance that I will be teaching night school. As a result, I'm wondering if any of you UK players would be interested in a weeknight (starting at 6 or 7 p.m., for you) game of Deadlands. I'm likewise wondering if any of you US players are off during the day and wold like to join me for an early afternoon gaming session (probably starting at noon or 1 p.m., CDT).

Pretty much any weekday would do, but my preference would probably be for a Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday game.

For those of you who haven't experienced it, Deadlands is set in the gunslinging "Old West" of the United States, but with an alternate timeline and heavy steampunk and supernatural horror elements. This is your chance to be a gunslinger, a mad scientist, or a card shark who consults with the Devil on the side. As a professional historian, native Texan, and the son of a preacher-man, I have a real feel for this game, and I can promise some exciting sessions.

I have done a tiny bit of writing for the setting--you can see my work on the free "Scare Crow" One Sheet download from Pinnacle Entertainment Group's website, although you may not want to look, since I'm thinking about maybe running that adventure to start the campaign.

Deadlands uses a slightly altered version of the Savage Worlds rule set, and I will happily take and teach new people, whether they need help with SW, Fantasy Grounds, or both. Both systems are relatively easy to pick up and a fairly intuitive once you understand some underlying concepts.

Another possibility for this game is that I would run it on Sunday afternoons, interspersed with a Necropolis game. Please post here if you are interested, or send me a PM. If I can find two people to play, that would be sufficient to carry a game.