PDA

View Full Version : Help deciding on Ruleset

Kingfish
March 25th, 2011, 22:36
Hello all,

I'm back at it and trying to figure out, what would be the best ruleset for the game I am wanting to run.

If anyone is familiar with the old "Twilight 2000" PnP game from the mid 80s(and it was redone in the early 90s too), this is what I want to run. If anyone knows the system and understands all the options open to me with FG, it would be great for some options!

I am not a programmer nor to I have that much time to learn. I don't want to seem like a total slug here but I am finding it hard enough to get the time to play and setup a story...hopefully you will understand.

I'd like to have some automation...at least as much as D20_JPG...but if I must I will fall back to D20 Modern(which seems to be pretty bland).

Ok, I've talked enough...any help would be much appreciated.
K

kairos
March 26th, 2011, 01:51
I have to wholeheartedly recommend the BRP ruleset. Not only will you find it suitable to your apparently awesomely old-school tastes, it's highly customizable, and you don't need to be a computer whiz to do it. :)

Also, if you get the Eldrtich Horror (https://oberoten.dyndns.org/fgwiki/index.php/BRP_Eldritch_Horror_Extension) extension, you can do Call of Cthulhu in addition to generic BRP games.

Kingfish
March 26th, 2011, 04:11
Interesting...I will look into it!

What is the level of automation in the BRP ruleset? Seems my players have become accustomed to the D20_JPG's 'shortcuts' and whatnot.

Thanks for the response too!
K

StuartW
March 26th, 2011, 07:32