PDA

View Full Version : New to Fantasy Grounds, New to RPG

angelorfd
March 9th, 2011, 03:19
Hello.

I played RPG once with a group of friends and really loved it. The master was very experienced and the players knew each other very well. The problem is: I live far from every single one of them.

That's why I'm trying Fantasy Grounds. I downloaded the Demo and I wish to learn how to RPG. But for that I need some... tips. For example: I'm at the website and can't find a game to join. I don't know the rules of the games and don't know the difference between D20, D&D and GURPS.

Any help for the newbie?

ronnke
March 9th, 2011, 04:31
Finding a game should not be too difficult, just contact some of the GM's that have announced a game here in the forums. Let them know you are keen, but a complete newbie, they will then instruct you further.

As for not knowing any rules, that does not matter, everyone here at some time did not know any rules either. The best way to learn is jump in feet first, get involved and learn as you play.

GURPS has a free PDF download of its rules that has been written with the complete beginner in mind. It's 32 pages and has the basics you need to start playing GURPS

GURPSLite Free Download
https://e23.sjgames.com/item.html?id=SJG31-0004

Other game designers may have similar downloads, I just don't know of them. Those here that do, might be able to post you some links.

angelorfd
March 9th, 2011, 05:05
about FG itself: I tried to join a game that was happening, but got confused on the FG software... the Host Address, i don't know what to put in that field!

ronnke
March 9th, 2011, 05:10
The person that is running the game will give you an IP address or more commonly an alias which is 4 words (ie ugly camp warm ally). Type the IP address or the alias into the host area of FG, click the start button and you should find yourself joining the game.

angelorfd
March 9th, 2011, 05:48