PDA

View Full Version : New questions

Linkis
March 7th, 2011, 18:57
I've never used Fantasy Grounds before, and I was hoping to learn the magnitude of work that is required by a DM to create even simple dungeons. Also what is available in regards to premade dungeons and things of that nature? Thanks in advance.

Griogre
March 7th, 2011, 19:52
The amount of work greatly depends on what game you are planning on running. Usually, each RPG has a different ruleset. Generally speaking the more sophisticated the ruleset the more work for the GM. However, as a minimum you usually need the NPCs in an adventure in a form that make sense to Fantasy Grounds so libraries of monster data are particularly valuable as a time saver if available.

The availability of premade adventures and data is directly affected by any restrictions the company that makes the game has put on the information. For example, for 3.5 most of WotCs data was allowed to be freely distributed electronically with a few restrictions which means FG comes with monster libraries already made for 3.5. For 4E, WotC has forbidden the distribution of their intellectual property electronically so while there is a rules framework you have to data libraries yourself. For 4E there is a 3rd party tool to help you do this.

Anyway, if you say what game(s) you are interested in running people can tell you what is available for that ruleset.

Koldoon
March 7th, 2011, 20:33
I was making my first determined effort in a long time to prep an adventure for FG last night.