PDA

View Full Version : Feature Requests

mattcolville
February 28th, 2011, 01:55
As some of you know, I've been muddling through the process of learning FG2 for the past several months. I now have about 12 players using FG2 in groups and solo and ramping up to more every week.

I still have a lot to learn, but I wanted to put down my notes on what I and my players would like to see.

Every player so far is impressed with how FG2 handles D&D4. Everyone agrees the experience of playing online, via FG2, is in many ways equal, and in some ways superior to playing in-person.

But the process of *getting* to the point where people can "just play" is extremely painful and that's what I want to address.

I'm going to stick with just the highest-level issues because this isn't a bug problem.

1. Conform to Windows interface standards.

When I say this, people imagine I'm saying "it should look like a Windows program." Nono, that's ridiculous. Starcraft doesn't look like a Windows program. But it conforms to Windows interface standards.

When you have a context-menu up, pressing escape should close it. When you click in a text field, the cursor should arrive there and start blinking. I mean *every time* you do it, not just sometimes, here and there. The scroll wheel should always scroll. Page up and page down should always work. There should be some indication which window you have "in focus," and when in focus all the normal navigation keys should work. All windows should be resizable and there should be some way to minimize a window without having to right-click on it. If you have a search-box, control-F should bring it up.

I'm sure there was some reason for making FG2 work differently from every other Windows program, but I feel that whatever that reason was, it's not as important as "New users automatically know how to navigate your software."

2. Better UI