PDA

View Full Version : iPad App

mattcolville
January 31st, 2011, 21:38
What would an iPad App for FG2 be like?

I ask because I'm a video game developer by trade and just released my first iPhone game. So I have some experience with the iOS.

I also just ran my first real, non-experimental, encounter with 3 other players using FG2 and it went pretty well!

I also have an iPad. Many of my friends have iPads.

Talking about using FG2 as an in-person table-top substitute, everyone agreed that it's a good idea. The GM at a computer with a monitor. The players looking at another monitor or a projector or whatever. Doesn't matter. We all agreed it would be relatively easy for the GM to run the game in person using FG2 and a normal computer and somehow push the map out so all the players could see it.

What we couldn't really figure out was how to get the *players* playing. They each need their own computer in order to control and manipulate their characters.

The GM at a computer or laptop is no problem. We've done this and as long as the Tool is robust enough, it works just like a GM screen.

But each *player* with a laptop is prohibitive. They're too big, too unwieldy, not ergonomic enough for tabletop play.

But an iPad, on the other hand, is PERFECT.

So it seems to me, Step One is recognizing that the iPad App would be a client app, not a server. You wouldn't run the game from an iPad, you'd play from an iPad.

It would have to focus on what the player wants and needs. The player wants and needs to be able to manipulate his Token on the map. He needs to be able to grab his mans, and move him as he wants. That's non-negotiable.

But he doesn't actually need his character sheet. Or rather, he doesn't need his character's information preserved in Sheet Format. Like a separate document you look at, as it is currently.

You could, for instance, have the Map displayed on the iPad. Whatever the GM wants the players to see, the players see.