PDA

View Full Version : Monster Builder -> FG2

mattcolville
January 24th, 2011, 08:34
Let's imagine I have a custom monster created using the Monster Builder. Is there an "easy" way to bring him into FG2, without entering all his data in manually?

Fot5
January 24th, 2011, 15:37
Yes, you can use the parser. You'd just put the stat block into the NPC data file and create a module with the parser. When you activate that module in the parser, the monster will appear under the NPC menu. You can also use the parser to put groups of monsters together into encounters.

mattcolville
January 24th, 2011, 20:11
Yes, you can use the parser. You'd just put the stat block into the NPC data file and create a module with the parser. When you activate that module in the parser, the monster will appear under the NPC menu. You can also use the parser to put groups of monsters together into encounters.

Ok, I can probably do that. I just managed to add a weapon manually. I have no experience creating new files, only scraping the compendium. So unless there's some reason not to, I'd just add this to an existing file and reparse. Would that make sense?

Any advice on how to translate this;

Knight of the Eye Level 3 Soldier
Medium natural humanoid XP 150
HP 47; Bloodied 24
AC 19; Fortitude 16; Reflex 15; Will 14
Speed 5
Initiative +5
Perception +1

Standard Actions
m Longsword (weapon) • At-Will
Attack: +10 vs. AC
Hit: 1d8 + 5 damage, and the target is marked until the end of the knight’s next turn.
r Dagger (weapon) • At-Will
Attack: Ranged 5/10; +8 vs. AC
Hit: 1d4 + 5 damage.
M Stealthy Smite • Recharge 5 6
Requirements: Must have combat advantage against target.
Hit: 1d8 + 9 damage, and the target falls prone.
Triggered Actions
Punitive Radiance • Encounter
Trigger: When the knight hits with a melee attack.
Effect (Free): The attack deals 1d6 extra radiant damage, and the target grants combat advantage until the end of the knight’s next turn.
Knight's Shove • At-Will