PDA

View Full Version : Could not load ruleset root file base.xml

flightmek25
January 21st, 2011, 15:12
Could not load ruleset root file base.xml

When I try to join my own campaign as a player with a new window on the same PC, I keep getting the above error. I don't understand why this started happening. I was doing this for an entire day when I first purchased the program, then while I was play-testing some stuff I was creating <BOOT> and now I can't sign back in.

I tried signing in under a different player name a few minutes ago and it says "licenses key conflict."

It may be worth noting that the GM campaign works just fine. I like having the ability to sign in with a character to test stuff out as I am very new to the system.

Thanks in advance!

Griogre
January 21st, 2011, 23:18
To run two instances on the same machine the second instance needs to connect with a different log on id and you need to connect using the local IP address or on most widows machines you can use localhost instead of the local IP address. The license key conflict means you are either using the alias or external IP address.

flightmek25
January 22nd, 2011, 14:45
Thanks for responding.

If by "different log on id" you mean the username entry on the player sign in sheet, then they are indeed different - they have always been different. You are correct on the external IP, however. that was the one time I tried using that address rather than the local one.

It's still not working. Any other ideas?

Other info:
I am using the Dark Heresy Ruleset available on the FG wiki.
When I log on with a player, my GM's log actually reads " 'player name' connected"
The download bar fills all the way up before I receive the error message.

flightmek25
January 22nd, 2011, 17:31
UPDATE: