PDA

View Full Version : windowcontrol updates

drahkar
December 23rd, 2010, 01:52
Does anyone have any suggestions on how I would implement the monitoring of a control from another control to see when it was updated?

For example:

a numbercontrol in one window needs to know when a genericcontrol in another window is updated so it can fire a series of functions.

Does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions how that might be implemented? I suppose i could create an intermediary process through a database node. But frankly I don't like that idea.

Bidmaron
December 23rd, 2010, 02:23
The database node is the only way I know of, but I am not an expert on fg2 coding quite yet. The onupdate triggers for the database doesn't sound like such a bad way to go to me. In fact, as long as the control IS persistent, it's hard to imagine intercontrol events being any more graceful than the database update events.

StuartW
December 23rd, 2010, 06:29
The only other way is to put code in the generic control's script that updates the number control, but that can be at least as ugly and only works if the controls share the same top window (so you can reach one from the other via script).

Stuart

Ikael
December 23rd, 2010, 06:30
If you want to play with controls that are associated with databasenode (ie. stringfield, numberfield, etc.) I would recommend to implement the monitoring using databasenode's onUpdate() handler. If monitored control is genericcontrol then I believe this is the only way, if and only if that genericcontrol is associated with databasenode. Otherwise it could get very tricky.

drahkar
December 23rd, 2010, 08:04
Thats what I was afraid of. Was just trying to sort things out for possible solutions.

Thanks everyone for their thoughts.

Moon Wizard
December 23rd, 2010, 15:08