PDA

View Full Version : [Free VOIP] GSC - Total Gaming Client

Xorn
June 29th, 2010, 03:15
I know I've mentioned in the distant past that my group uses GSC for our VOIP solution, but I can't find the old thread and felt like mentioning it again.

https://getgsc.com

While it might look like an instant message client from the front page, that's honestly the least awesome thing about it. Now it does function like a IM client while you're logged in (login registration is free), but you can create a private, remotely hosted, 200-person limit VOIP channel.

You have full admin rights, and can configure the rooms, priveleged users, sound settings, everything. The sound is great and it functions just like Ventrilo or Teamspeak, with the exceptions of being FREE and not requiring anyone to host it!

This is a fantastic free VOIP solution--my gaming buddies and I have been using this program for over two years!

dm-crazy
June 29th, 2010, 08:48
well we use Ventrilo, but i need to be the host... i will try that! :)

Xorn
June 29th, 2010, 12:39
Before we found GSC, we tried Ventrilo, Teamspeak, and Skype, all which required one of us to host, or paying for a remotely hosted server.

Now we use GSC. :)

Griogre
July 1st, 2010, 20:56
I used GSC a year or so ago and I found it disappointing with a lot of disconnects. Admittedly this was with the RPGA group and its quite possible there was a lot of different versions being used.

Are you playing with the version 2.0? Maybe I'll have to give it another shot.

Sorontar
July 1st, 2010, 21:11
I used GSC a year or so ago and I found it disappointing with a lot of disconnects. Admittedly this was with the RPGA group and its quite possible there was a lot of different versions being used.

Have to say we got a lot of disconnects as well when we used it so we now have ventrilo running on my spare PC downstairs.

Xorn
July 1st, 2010, 21:46