PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Party Targeting

m455954
June 29th, 2010, 01:01
Hi - although I have now successfully run my first 4E session using FGII I'm still a noob to the program and having some issues with 4E effects.

One of my players is a Warlock and we're trying to figure out the correct syntax for the effect of Warlock's Curse - this should be a fairly simple one but I'm sumped.

The effect adds 1d6 to the next attack by the same character against the same target

If I set it to SELF; TRGT; DMG:1d6 and the player double clicks it then it correctly adds 1d6 to the next damage roll of the character - but it does it for whichever target he has selected, not the one he had targetted at the time he placed the curse.

I've messed around with the Self/Trgt button and tried shift dropping the effect onto the target and I can't seem to get it to apply in the correct way.

How should we be configuring the effect and how should he be applying it for the correct outcome?

Thanks,

Mark.

m455954
June 29th, 2010, 01:31
Hmmm... ok, seem to have figured it out now, but it's actually a bit un-intuitive for the player.

The player has to target his OWN character (after having untargetted anything else) and then shift-drag the effect onto the NPC he want's to curse

not entirely self evident, but it has the desired effect.

If there's a better way of doing this I'd be happy to hear it.

Thanks,

Mark.

EugeneZ
June 29th, 2010, 02:05
That's the only way. It'd be nicer if there was an easier way to do it but we only recently got the ability to do it at all, sooo. :)

However, the warlock in my party has almost NO attacks that target multiple creatures with the same damage type (it's usually an alternative damage roll to other creatures). In those cases, there's not too much reason to use the targeted effect... just double click a normal self DMG: 1d6 effect right before rolling the damage on a cursed guy. Busting out the shift key once in a while isn't too big a deal, IMO.