PDA

View Full Version : Just Getting Started

Hakim
May 31st, 2010, 22:13
I started playing D&D first edition in 1982, and I have been computer gaming since the days of Bard's Tale on the Apple IIe. It has been almost 10 years since I have done pencil and paper style gaming. In recent years I have been exclusively playing online games such as EQ, WoW, AoC, as well as RTS and FPS type games.

Though I have not done so for about a decade, I spent almost 20 years playing D&D (1st and 2nd edition), and a little GURPs as a player. Yeah... I am old school LOL. When I played D&D, I primarily DM'd. I knew 2nd edition backward and forward, and had a good portion of the DMG and PM virtually memorized. Even after 3rd edition came out, I personally did not like it, and continued playing second edition for many years.

For the last 5 years I have been playing WoW almost exclusively. I am GM and RL for a pretty serious raiding guild, but WoW is fast losing it's luster and I have been in search of a new game.

A few weeks ago I stumbled across Fantasy Grounds. Woot! I am very excited at the prospect of taking one of my favorite gaming styles into an online environment. I have always asked "why can't they just computerize the good old pencil and paper game to make it faster and easier in terms of battle". In fact, back when I was leaving EQ, I tried a game called NWN on the hopes that they had done exactly that... what a dissapointment that was. Needless to say the potential of this platform is very exciting to me.

Ultimately I plan to DM. When I DM'd in the past I used very detailed, custom content, and my campaigns had a good mix, including very elaborate dungeons, and leaning toward psychological and political intrigue.