PDA

View Full Version : To Ultimate or not to Ulimate

xolok
May 12th, 2010, 18:59
Hi folks!

I'm completely new to this program, but I have read a lot of recommendations to use it for the online D&D 4e game I want to play with my friends.

Here's the situation:
Several friends of mine would like to play D&D 4e on a virtual table-top. We discussed using a webcam or some free programs, but we don't really have the time to fiddle all that much with the program trying to get it to work.

So... Question #1: How hassle-free would it be to set up a 4e campaign in Fantasy Grounds 2? Keeping in mind that I'm totally new to the program.

Next, if I just got the Ultimate version, would the rest of my friends only need the demo version or something? I'm puzzled as to what an "unregistered" client is. How crummy is the demo version? The Ultimate version is costly so I'm trying to gauge how much value there is to it.

Next, 2 of my friends and I are likely to switch up who is paying as DM. Would we all need full or ultimate clients or could we theoretically just change whatever client we were booting up depending on who was doing what?

Thanks for all the help!

Jason

EugeneZ
May 12th, 2010, 23:56
The demo app is not the unregistered app. The unregistered app is identical to Lite, except it can only connect to users with Ultimate versions, whereas the Lite can connect to both Full and Ultimate.