PDA

View Full Version : Portraits

CAPryde
May 12th, 2010, 04:35
Hello all. I'm new to FG and still figuring some things out. I have a question about portraits. I understand how to make new portraits appear on an individual machine. But is there a way to load the files on my end and have them pushed out to the players like shared tokens? Or am I correct in thinking that I have to send the files along separately to them and have them move the file into their own portrait folders?

Thanks in advance for the assistance.

Doswelk
May 12th, 2010, 13:53
Found out a way to do it as GM!

go to the portraits folder in your campaign.

copy the intended portrait file in there.

Rename it!

The tricky part is the renaming they need to be in the format id-xxxxx where the first file (id-00001) matches the id-00001 entry in the db.xml.

Ensure you have no extension on the file and it should work!
--------------------------
p.s. "missed" you last night :p

Might have saved the day! (Almost TPK!)

unluki
June 22nd, 2010, 19:13
We wanted our GM to be able to show us all each other's portraits, but have been unable to get FG to do so. It seems that no matter what we try, the same 8 original portraits are all that will show up. We're using the 4e ruleset. None of us knows how you can create a picture with "no file extension," unless you meant no file extension included in the NAME of the file, so we assumed that's what you meant. We tried both png and jpg pics, placing them into the GM's folder, but no change occurred as to what was available to the players. Any suggestions?

Doswelk
June 22nd, 2010, 19:16
I am not sure I understand the question..

Do you not all get to see each others pictures when you connect up?

The above hoops are what a GM needs to do if he wants to pre-populate pictures to the characters in the db.xml

If a player wants to add a portrait they would just copy the image to the portrait folder, when they connect to the DM the file is replicated to other users.