PDA

View Full Version : A few questions from a potentual.

Grey Hunter
April 19th, 2010, 11:43
Hello there.

I've been interested in getting back into roleplaying for a year now, but have never found anyone in my area who is interested.
So I've been looking into programs like this, but I thought I would ask a few questions.

I've only really played Shadowrun, and one horrible game of D&D that was ruined by a powergamer who knew the module and just ran though it almost without us. But I'm a quick learner, and willing to try most systems. so on to my questions.

1) The most important one, of course, How easy is it to find a regular campaign game using the system/site - as I know no one, it would have to be a a totally new group to me.
This would in all likelyhood involve someone putting up with a total noob for a few games, but then again, I suppose that thats not much different from real life, except a lot internet people are not to patient.

2) What "Extras" would I need - The base licence says that it is 3.5 ready - does this mean it has the D&D 3.5 rules in a PDF format, or would I have to find them somewhere else - I notice that CoC and Rolemaster in the store say they do have the PDF, but its not specific for all rules.
I'm also assuming that these modules are not needed by the player, only the GM, but could be a useful purchase.

3) Finally, how easy is the program to use? Am I going to be slowing people down while I try to rember Alt+Ctrl-X+P-Q is the hotkey to attack, and I need to press three buttons to talk.

I'm sure these are questions you hear all the time, but I'm just trying to get my head around things before I commit to a system, then have trouble getting a satisfactory game becasue I've brought an obscure version populated by elitest trolls.

Not that I think thats the case here, but I know the internet. and have learnt to be careful.
Thanks in advance.

Grey

Ayiden
April 19th, 2010, 15:08