PDA

View Full Version : Dragon Age and Fantasy Grounds: A Question...

Benjpeters
April 11th, 2010, 13:37
I posted this another forum, but it appears that this is the place to post now in regards to new rulesets.
What would it take to get a Dragon Age RPG ruleset for Fantasy Grounds II? Is there one currently being developed?
I thought I would try and make it on my own, for personal use, but the guide on the FGII website is computer jargon to me. Is there anything that could walk me through creating a ruleset step-by-step for dummies?

Thanks.

EugeneZ
April 11th, 2010, 19:23
I'm no ruleset expert (far from it), but I've made some custom modifications and additions to the 4e ruleset for personal use. Minor stuff. But the impression I've gotten is that FG2 ruleset development is not for the light-of-heart. It requires intermediate knowledge of either Lua or some other programming language (you'll still have to learn Lua, but knowing how programming languages work makes Lua simple in comparison). Furthermore, you'll need to learn XML and how to develop with an XML-mindset -- I find myself constantly having to remember that FG2 uses XML heavily. Whether it's because you're building out or modifying GUIs or dealing with non-volatile storage (which is done in XML in FG2), it's something you always need to understand to a certain degree.

I don't think FG2 ruleset creation was ever designed to be "for dummies." That said, I think it might be a great introduction to programming and design if you are so inclined. If the guides are jargon, I recommend as your first step looking up the definitions of things you don't understand. If you have specific questions, I don't doubt there are many talented coders here who would love to help.

As for any specific guides, I haven't seen any. The FG2 docs have been enough for me.

drahkar
April 12th, 2010, 11:30