PDA

View Full Version : General Interface Improvements

osarusan
March 24th, 2010, 11:19
I couldn't find the wishlist thread, but I've been using FG for many years now, and while I'm so happy with it, there's a couple of interface issues that have always been bugging me.

- Text input: the text input in FG is far too basic. If you're typing up modules from scratch it's not so bad, but if you want to copy/paste things from, say, PDF's or websites, it would be great if there was better support for formatting. As it is, I never use any of the text-based options, like Story, items, and rarely NPC's, just because it's simply so cumbersome. I want to, but the effort involved in copying NPC's, items, monsters, etc. from PDF's is not worth the payoff, in my opinion.

- Importing pictures: It's really easy to copy a picture into the FG II/campaigns/images folder to add it to the game, but it would be so much smoother to be able to just drag-and-drop something onto the FG window and have it automatically copy into there. I love using images and props in my game, but I feel like I have to go through a middle man every time I want to show something. When we enter new terrain I like to show nature photos, etc, and I'd love to just drag the jpeg from a webpage into the FG window rather than having to drag the picture from the webpage to the desktop, open the FG II folder, click through, drop the photo into the folder, and then open the images panel and open the image in FG II. Too many clicks.