PDA

View Full Version : Newbie having difficulty connecting to host

jcdf
February 27th, 2010, 00:56
I am new to FGII. I am attempting to connect to a game hosted by another.

I have a LITE License and have recently updated.

The GM says they have no problem with firewall and others do not have any difficulty connecting to the GM. Also the GM is in the USA and I am outside the USA.

When I enter the GM's server alias and clicking start I get the ERROR message "Could not connect to host. Check the address and try again."

Any ideas what might be wrong?

jcdf
February 27th, 2010, 00:58
Also I am using Windows Vista

follmern
February 27th, 2010, 03:44
Are you using a router? If you are, you will need to set up either a reserved or static IP address for your PC and then enable Port Forwarding for port 1802. There are several threads which give detailed instructions on this if you need more help.

jcdf
February 27th, 2010, 13:05
Yes, I am using a router. I am not hosting a game just connecting to a game.

I went to this page and followed the instructions. (https://oberoten.dyndns.org/fgwiki/index.php/Networking)

I went into the virtual server configuration and set my computer as the DMZ Host. Those IP packets from the Internet that do NOT belong to any applications configured in the port forwarding table will be sent to my computer.

I will not know if this has worked until I try connecting to a game.

I was unable to find anything specific on Port Forwarding for port 1802 in my routers options.

Spyke
February 27th, 2010, 14:56
You do not need to set up your router for port forwarding if you are simply connecting to a game. Only the GM needs to do this.

If you turn off your firewall temporarily, can you connect?

Spyke

jcdf
February 27th, 2010, 15:22
You do not need to set up your router for port forwarding if you are simply connecting to a game. Only the GM needs to do this.

If you turn off your firewall temporarily, can you connect?

Spyke