PDA

View Full Version : 1 Map - 9 Encounters: help! :P

Dunamis
January 17th, 2010, 03:45
Hello all, I am relatively new to FG and am trying to become familiar with the program for creating and running campaigns. I have been through all the video tutorials and have read through the basic guides on the website as well. I was hoping that someone might be able to help me with this.

I am currently working on a campaign that features an arena. This arena will be the location of at least nine different encounters. I have placed the monsters for these encounters at three different locations on the map and have turned their visibility off. This way I can use the same map for those three encounters.
You can imagine however, how crowded and disorganized it will get if I use that method for 9 or more encounters.
My solution (being new to FG) was to copy the map three times and number them in sequence. The first copy of the map I put encounters 1 - 3, the second copy I put encounters 4 - 6, etc.

Was this the best solution? I am concerned about the fluidity of my campaign, I need a solution that is convenient and quick for me as the DM - but I don't want to force long load times that interrupt the game and make the players get OOC.

Foen
January 17th, 2010, 06:11
I tend to place the NPCs on the tactical maps on the fly (as and when needed) rather than in advance, so haven't come across this problem before. Your solution, with a combination of multiple maps and having three encounters per map, sounds like the best way if you absolutely must have the NPC pre-positioned. Two thoughts, however:

The way you describe it, you needn't have long download times when switching from one map to the next, provided you pre-load the map (usually a web icon about 7 o'clock on the image radial menu) a few minutes in advance. This pushes the data to the clients but doesn't display it until you do an ordinary 'share', at which point it becomes visible immediately.