PDA

View Full Version : Saving of Character Sheets

Morden
December 16th, 2009, 01:26
I'm new to FG, and not sure if this is a user (me) error, or if it is a bug.
I noticed that sometimes when I make changes to my local Character sheet it does not always save. As well, when I have logged into a DM hosted session and made changes to my Character sheet, those changes did not save.

Can someone provide an explanation?

Leonal
December 16th, 2009, 01:44
You cannot make changes locally after you have registered a character with the GM/host.

The manage characters only works to create characters before play, or to view characters you are already using AFAIK.
Any changes must be made when you're connected to the GM.

Morden
December 16th, 2009, 04:14
Can you re-submit a character to the DM? We have not started our campaign yet.

Leonal
December 16th, 2009, 05:34
If you create a new one locally then I'm sure you can select it the next time you connect. (depending on the ruleset in use, but if you managed to create it once, then you should be able to create a new one too)

If not, just keep the info ready and copy/paste to your character sheet when you connect next time.

Sigurd
December 16th, 2009, 12:56
In FG the game table always refers to the character saved on the DM's machine. In some rulesets you can build characters locally and then add them to the game table. When this happens the DM's machine makes a copy of your character as a 'server character'. All the in game changes are made to the server character.

You can reintroduce your local character (a modified name reduces confusion). It will have all the changes you made offline but none of the changes made in game.

Sigurd

ddavison
December 16th, 2009, 14:15
From a player perspective, it WOULD be nice to save a local copy. I will add this to the list of features to be worked on.

Foen
December 16th, 2009, 15:17