PDA

View Full Version : Client Connection Test

Kagesh
November 12th, 2009, 03:12
Hello All,
I'm new to Fantasy Grounds and I've just installed FG2 Full Version tonight. May question is: Is there a way to test a Client Connection? On the 'Create New Campaign' screen there is a test to see if my computer will accept incoming client connections, but I'm looking for a way to test my outgoing client connection. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mark

Sigurd
November 12th, 2009, 04:08
There isn't really a unique outgoing client connection. If the pipeline works it works both ways.

If you would like to see how your clients will see the desktop, start your campaign. Next start a second instance of Fantasy Grounds and select "Join".

Give yourself a name to log in with (I use 'Client' but then I'm imaginative.) and log into 127.0.0.1 (this number is preset as the IP of your own machine).

Sigurd

Zeus
November 12th, 2009, 13:05
Hello All,
I'm new to Fantasy Grounds and I've just installed FG2 Full Version tonight. May question is: Is there a way to test a Client Connection? On the 'Create New Campaign' screen there is a test to see if my computer will accept incoming client connections, but I'm looking for a way to test my outgoing client connection. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mark

To test an outbound client connection you may also want to post a request on the forum to join a FGII session as a guest. Many of the GM's here tend to support this type of thing, also helps you to understand how you can leverage all the features of FGII during gameplay by shadwing some gameplay and GMing.

The added benefit is that this tests your connectivity out through your router as well.

PM me I you want, I'd be happy to fire up a campaign for you to connect to.

Kagesh
November 12th, 2009, 21:13
Sigurd and zephp,