PDA

View Full Version : Maps as Tokens

tdewitt274
November 2nd, 2009, 02:27
I'm still pretty new to the whole setup, so forgive me if it's not possible.

Has anyone tried setting up "Dungeon Tiles" as Tokens for on the fly maps? I'd guess that it's possible to lay down the tiles and then place other Tokens above it. Depends on the layering.

For example, you can have

Level 1: Players
Level 2: Tiles
Level 3: "Hidden" (ex, Traps, Secret Doors, etc)

So, as they're going along, you can "pull off" level two to reveal hidden things.

Also, a Token set of different things like tables, chairs, chests, rock walls, and doors would be pretty cool. It would put that rotate function to good use!

Thoughts?

unerwünscht
November 2nd, 2009, 02:52
The better way to do it would be to use the tiles at the base layer, and then charter tokens and "hidden entities" on the same layer. Fantasy Grounds has a nifty option to make select 'tokens' invisible to players.

Sigurd
November 2nd, 2009, 02:53
It is a nightmare to have tokens on top of tokens. It is very cumbersome to cover substantial parts of your image with tiles. Alignment takes time, juggling takes time and its messy enough to hamper game enjoyment.

It is far easier to have a Graphics\Tile Program, running at the same time if necessary, spit out a jpg into a maps directory and then reshare the updated map.

S

unerwünscht
November 2nd, 2009, 02:55
You could also set the grid size correctly for the tiles, and then they will snap in place :-) and you dont have to line them up anymore :-)

tdewitt274
November 2nd, 2009, 03:03
The better way to do it would be to use the tiles at the base layer, and then charter tokens and "hidden entities" on the same layer. Fantasy Grounds has a nifty option to make select 'tokens' invisible to players.

When you say "base layer", do you mean a JPG/PNG as the background and then put the items on that?

tdewitt274
November 2nd, 2009, 03:06