PDA

View Full Version : Okay, I lied.

Fiskonian
October 20th, 2009, 10:16
I have been playing D&D for years, but I'm new to 4th Ed.

Would anyone be willing to help me make a character and help explain a few things to me regarding gameplay?

Sorry, the new rules are very different than 3ed and 2ed. I only have access to PDF versions of the rules also, which makes things slightly difficult. (I bought the books, theyre just in a different country right now.)

EugeneZ
October 20th, 2009, 23:28
Just post your questions here, lots of people play 4e and you'll easily get answers.

Lysander
October 20th, 2009, 23:41
Making a starting character is not very hard once you get a few practice characters under your belt. If you have access to the DDI character builder, it'll teach you lots. If you don't, then post a few of the problems or questions you're trying to crack and we'll help you out...

I find if you're joining a group, 4e seems to put more emphasis on group composition than anything of the previous editions. It's much like making a WoW raid group, and 4e seems to borrow from that mindset a lot (MMORPG)...

Good luck! :bandit:

Griogre
October 21st, 2009, 02:16
If you don't have access to DDI for some reason - the character builder I think does PH characters up to 2nd or 3rd level - this excel character generator is very good: https://dnd4.com/dd-4th-edition-character-sheet

Fiskonian
October 21st, 2009, 05:32
Well, mainly what I'm having a bit of trouble with understanding is the attack and damage workspace, basic attacks section, senses, rituals and utility powers.
attack and damage workspace - I'm guessing it's like the weapon slot on 3ed character sheets?
basic attacks - why have this and the attack and damage section?
senses - is this the default check instead of rolling a die everytime you might notice something?
rituals - spells for everyone?
utility powers - ???

Zeus
October 21st, 2009, 08:33