PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie...is this right for me?

Orange Toque
August 25th, 2009, 05:31
I'm looking to start some online virtual tabletop gaming with 4 of my friends. Someone directed me to this site, and I really like what I see. The video tutorials really helped cement the fact that I want to use this program to play online gaming. Well done to the person who did them.

However, I had some questions regarding what I could do with this program. How easy is it to learn how to code a non-existent rule set? I would like to run my game under Pathfinder, and I have not yet seen a full Pathfinder ruleset. If one already exists, I would love to use it. If one doesn't, how hard will it be to build a ruleset?

Also, because the adventure that I would like to run contains Mind Flayers, Slaad, and Beholders, is there any problem with creating entries for Intellectual Property of Wizards of the Coast, even though I have no intention of distributing them outside of the game that I would be running? I'm just not sure of what I am able to do at this point.

And lastly, one of my players feels uncomfortable with other people looking into our game. She has a tendency to make (ahem) less than good decisions as a player. Is this even an issue? If we play a game, will it be private? I've seen that you can set a password for sessions, does this block anyone from peeking in on random games?

Thank you for your responses ahead of time. I hope to quickly join this community and learn as much as I can as quickly as I can. The tutorials and various message board posts have show me that this could be a place that I could fit in, and I hope that is the case.

Leonal
August 25th, 2009, 05:58
As for Pathfinder, I personally use the d20_JPG ruleset with an extension to change the skills, and some cosmetic modifications. (Though as the ruleset gets updated by moon_wizard, I'll have to make these changes again, but it doesn't take too long.)