PDA

View Full Version : The One-Roll Engine (O.R.E.)

ZenStorm
June 1st, 2009, 04:32
I'm new to Fantasy Grounds. It looks awesome, though I do have some questions about supported rules.

Are there any plans to release a rules-set for ORE, as in Godlike, Wild Talents and Reign?

If no, is it possible to run Fantasy Grounds straight up and just tell it to roll and show you the numbers, or do you need a specific rules-set in order for a game to be playable?

Thanks, in advance. (And please forgive my ignorance. As I've said, I'm very new here.)

Griogre
June 1st, 2009, 21:39
I'm not familar with ORE so I can't speculate on how likely someone will make a ruleset for it. However, if it is simple then probably you could use the Generic Ruleset for it.

As far as just using FG as a dice roller and battle map with tokens that is quite possible. If you haven't already done so download the demo and try it. The demo does use the d20 ruleset but even still you will be able to roll dice, use the battlemap and make hot keys. You are never forced to actually use the character sheets or personalities.

ZenStorm
June 2nd, 2009, 01:49
In your opinion, using the generic rules-set of the full, paid-for package, how well will it handle a system wherein you roll dice-pools of d10s?

Foen
June 2nd, 2009, 06:06
For dice pools, you might want to try using the nWoD ruleset, freely available from the FG-Wiki. It uses d10s with success on 8+.

Foen

Griogre
June 2nd, 2009, 07:37
What the generic ruleset gives you is a character sheet that is basically text fields where you can type in whatever you need for the game. There’s no automation but maximum flexablity.