PDA

View Full Version : Players and Notes

TFWoods3
May 31st, 2009, 13:44
I'm still learning all the nice features of FG. Is there any way for a player to easily copy the notes I send them (either from the Note or Story area) into their own notes? Just a simple "Copy Note to my notes" Command would be nice. Any tricks you guys know that can help?

Thanks

Tom

Griogre
June 1st, 2009, 20:48
Generally speaking, no. But this is ruleset dependent. They should be able to copy any text they can highlight in white by highlighting the text and then Ctrl C and then pasting with Ctrl V. You can't do this on things in the chat window. Players can sometimes do it from fields in the item popups and from other player's notes.

It it is important to you play around with the items popup, but it really depends on what ruleset you are using.

TFWoods3
June 2nd, 2009, 03:39
I am using the 4E_JPG, which I love overall.

Was this an intentional thing to keep players from ignoring notes? Forcing them to type it out or write it down in their own notes?

I thought it would be nice to be able to send a note to a specific player for them to save in their notes, say some specific features they catch with a perception roll, or information they learn that I don't want them to forget as soon as I close the window.

Griogre
June 2nd, 2009, 07:14
I don't think it was intentional specifically. It's just the result of existing things being reused that didn't allow copy and paste. Copy and paste was introduced with FG2 but most people building rulesets re-use the building blocks created for the d20 ruleset - which was originally developed for FG1 and while it was upgraded for FG2 most text fields weren't changed to allow copy and paste. Thus I think it's more a legacy thing than a specific design decision.