PDA

View Full Version : Fumble Dice

Zeus
May 4th, 2009, 21:52
Hello all, hoping someone can help me out as I am new to FGII and completely green when it comes to Lua programming.

My group have been playing D&D since the mid 70s, pretty much D&D upto 3.5e. We have recently decided to move to 4e and I have been steadily preparing our campaign and FG2 for our groups needs over the past few weeks. I am so far very happy with FG2, its so far proven to be a great asset to our D&D gaming. The group are also excited and raring to go.

One thing that we have discussed and would like to bring into FG2 and our game is Fumble dice for when attack rolls equal 1 (Automatic Miss under 4e core rules). The idea being players roll a customised 1d6 to determine the nature of the fumble e.g. simple miss, drop weapon, break weapon, hit ally etc. etc.

The Fumble die rolls have added some fun elements into our past gaming and we would collectivley like to continue this tradition as we move to the latest edition.

I have thus far figured out (from various forum posts) that I can create a custom die in gameelements.xml with somthing like:
<customdie name="dF">
<model>d6</model>
<menuicon>customdice</menuicon>
<script>
function onValue(result)
return result; -- or return math.ceil(result);
end
</script>
</customdie>

Back in FG2 if I type /die 1dF, FG2 rolls a 1d6 but the result value in the chat
window displays ?0 I have tried various return values statements to get this
to work but to no avail I can't even get the example from the documentation
to work, e.g. return math.ceil(result/2)

Am I missing something?

I have see in other posts that I may also have to create a modified
onDiceLanded() handler in chat_chat.lua however I just havn't got
a clue where to start.

Can some kind soul provide a similar example that I can draw from?
Or can anyone provide an extension to foundation/3.5e rulesets that
I can again possibly adapt for use with 4E_JPG.

Thanks in advance.

Foen