PDA

View Full Version : Considering Fantasy Grounds

LauraW
April 16th, 2009, 06:20
Friends of our are moving away and we want to continue gaming. So I started looking into virtual tabletops. I like the looks of Fantasy Grounds the best but I need a system that will easily support World of Darkness, Savage Worlds and Fudge/Fate (Spirit of the Century). I believe we can do the first two easily on Fantasy Grounds but concerned about the last.

While I am fine with the computer, I am new to virtual tabletops. My friends are not computer literate and I will need to set this up for them before they move so not a lot of time to decide.

I want something rather simple for them. I also like to put pretty things in my game (a girl thing I suppose) including maps and props (such as letters, tickets, etc.)

I guess I would be sold on this if I could find a way to graphically support the fudge dice. Battlegrounds has this ability in the demo although it doesn't add the -'s and +'s which is fine. I know we could use 6 sided dice but I really like the visuals of the -'s and +'s.

Is there some sort of way to plug-in a mod for the Fudge dice? I can't test this in the demo so have to take your word for it...something that does concern me. :o

Anyway, thanks for any advice you might give me.

Foen
April 16th, 2009, 06:26
Welcome to the forums LauraW. I'm not familiar with the other VTTs out there, so I'll leave it to more knowledgeable folks to comment on their relative merits.

I think it should be possible to build a plug-in (extension) for custom dice which would show 1s and -1s for successes and fails. Do your fudge dice us 1-2=fail,3-4=neither,5-6=success?

Cheers

Foen

LauraW
April 16th, 2009, 06:44
Thank you, Foen.