PDA

View Full Version : Want to upgrade my PC soon

valzoric
April 7th, 2009, 03:35
Hello,
New to the game and the forums. I'm looking to upgrade my PC soon and I have not installed Fantasy Grounds 2 yet. While I want to play, I'm afraid if I install it on my old PC I will have to buy another license for the new PC.

Is this true, or can I transfer the license. This was not clear in the FAQ and I could not find another thread on the topic. I appologize if this has already been asked.

Thanks for your time.

EugeneZ
April 7th, 2009, 04:26
Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and this isn't legal advice.

My opinion, yes. Based on this in the EULA:

You may transfer the license to another system for your personal use as long as the SOFTWARE is not used or installed on multiple systems.

unerwünscht
April 7th, 2009, 05:10
No.. you would not need a new license for this. The reason being that you personally will be using the software on your current computer, and when you get the new computer, you will stop using the application on the current one, and you personally will be using it again on the new system.

It would be absolutely unreasonable for smite works to expect you to purchase the software again every time you upgraded systems, some of us upgrade about once a week.

EugeneZ
April 7th, 2009, 13:07
Microsoft Windows used to work this way. It kind of still does. They allow a number of upgrades but the key word is "allow." Their EULA states that OEM copies of Windows are assigned to that specific machine. And since the Windows EULA is probably the most well known example, it's not an altogether unreasonable question, I think.

unerwünscht
April 7th, 2009, 14:19