Character Management

From Fantasy Grounds Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Character Selection Window

The character selection window can be selected by pressing the "Characters" button in the sidebar on the right hand side of the tabletop. Also, the character selection window will open automatically for players joining a game.

Character Selection Window

Once a character is selected by a player, that character is owned by that player until the GM clears the owner. Only one player can own and view a character.

Player Actions

  • Select a Character: Double-click on a character box.
  • Add a New Character: Click the Add button.
  • Import a Character: Click the Import button, and select the character created in Manage Characters mode that you would like to import. A Character selected from the Import character list will be copied to the server, and the original will remain local.
  • Choose Server Character: After clicking Import button, click the Choose Server Character button to return to the original character selection list.
  • Release a Character: After selecting a character, the character's portrait will appear in the upper left of the tabletop. Right click, and select Release option to release the character. The character is still owned unless the GM clears the owner.

Note: Players can activate more than one character at a time.

GM Actions

  • Add a New Character: Click the Add button.
  • View a Character: Single click on a character box.
  • Add Character to CT: Drag character box onto the combat tracker window.
  • Add Character to PS: Drag character box onto the party sheet window.
  • Delete a Character: Click the Delete button on the character box.
  • Import a Character: Click the Import button, and select the character file to import.
  • Export a Character: Click the Export button on the character box.
  • Clear Owner: Right-click the character box, and select the Clear Owner menu option. This will automatically release the character, if currently owned by an active player.

For rulesets which don't have the buttons shown, the GM can add and delete characters by using the right-click context menu.

Buttons

For the player, only the add and import buttons will be shown.

For the GM, only the edit button will be shown initially. Once the edit button is clicked, the remaining buttons will become visible.

  • Green Plus: Add a Character.
  • Brown Slash: Toggle edit mode.
  • Blue Up Arrow: Import character file (GM), or Choose character created in Manage Characters mode (Player).
  • Blue Down Arrow: Export character file (GM), or choose server character (Player).
  • Red Minus: Delete Character.