Starfinder Playlist
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

First Time DM, New to 5e, not technically proficient with FG yet

Hey guys,
    I'm just trying to gauge a level of interest here. I bought the ultimate license along with all the 5e content available not too long ago. I recently tried to play with some friends who I used to share a table with, and I chose the Lost Mines of Phandelver module to learn the ropes.

*MINOR SPOILERS FOR THE LOST MINES OF PHANDELVER TO FOLLOW* So we started using FG, used video chat, and initially, things seemed to go okay. In our 2nd session, one of my players charmed Klarg, the bugbear in the cave, and then successfully rolled a persuasion check to get him to change alignment and allegiance after the charm had worn off. We only made it through about 3 sessions, as the same player and I got frustrated with one another, as he continued to do crazy things.
    *SPOILERS END*

I'm still pretty new to DMing, FG, and to 5e as a whole, (I learned to play and did some DM sessions on house rules of 3.5) My players weren't fans of me not allowing them to deviate from the module in big ways, they weren't familiar with FG in the slightest, and I was a bad DM. I kind of lost my temper with the one who kept doing things that would break the module or derail the overall story. Another friend who was not playing but had been my confidant, approached me and asked if I would mind him taking over my time slot, (We play other sessions together, some of us live in different countries/time zones) and in my frustration, I told him to go for it. I had no interest in DMing if it was going to constantly be a stressful nightmare, because my one of my PC's was going to try to persuade everything under the sun with his 20 Charisma Sorcerer, fully knowing I'm running a "scripted" game.