5E Character Create Playlist
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Do You Recommend FG to Mac Users?

Howdy Folks,

I've been a Windows guy since 3.1 I think, so I have to admit that most things Mac simply don't register in my brain. Lately, though, I'm slowly trying to put together groups of players for some one-shots, and I'm getting some pushback from Mac users that FG on Mac is just too big a bear to tame.

I have zero experience with this, so curious what the community thinks. It could absolutely just be a misperception (we GURPS players are used to lingering misperceptions), and if so it's one I'd like to clear up for them, but if it's an actual issue I should start taking OS into consideration for player invites.

So, do you recommend Fantasy Grounds to Mac users? Does it work well, or just "good enough"? (I'm assuming 'it doesn't really work isn't an option, since Mac users seem to post frequently).

Thanks!
    How to Be a GURPS GM, author
    Game Geekery, Blog (GURPS combat examples, fillable PDF sheets, rules summaries, campaigns and one-shots, intro for beginners)
    Discord, unofficial GURPS hangout and real-time chat

One of my players uses a Mac, and has been playing successfully with me for almost ten years. There's a bit of extra set-up required, but after that it works very well. There's a very helpful community here that can help out with any issues, too. Have you looked at the stickied thread on running FG on a Mac?

Blog Entries
    Installation is (or can be) more complex.
    I dont think there are any other issues.
    There can be interface workarounds if you dont have a 2 or 3 button mouse...?

A few years ago it was a lot more complex. Now there are Steam and FG website provided installation packages to make it straightforward to setup. The Steam DLC limitations are no longer there either. So, there's really no bear to tame - unless the bear's really cute and keeps marmalade sandwiches under his hat...