DICE PACKS BUNDLE

Ars Magica/Fantasy Grounds Questions

Dear all

I hope there are Ars Magica DM's/players reading this! But other's opinions are also most welcome!

I love Fantasy Grounds and I love Ars Magica.

Now I am trying to integrate the two.

I like how smoothly 5e D&D runs on FG, and I wish the same would be possible for Ars Magica.

Now I know a certain 'Obe' (?) is delivering great work in developing an Ars Magica Ruleset for FG. I have installed that Ruleset in my FG. Now I am wondering, as I am new to Ars Magica, what will work and what not. What could be the annoyances, if any?

A 2nd option could be to adapt CoreRPG or MoreRPG to be usable for Ars Magica, but I do not know where to begin

A 3th option would be to use a d20 variant for Ars Magica on the D&d 5e Ruleset, but to me, although this sounds attractive if I think about the smoothness of D&d 5e on FG, it feels as if I am raping the game by doing that. I would prefer to play it in it's pure form.

A 4th option would be to defect to Roll20, because that platform is more freeform/ruleset agnostic, but then i loose the esthetics and automation of FG

Your advice would be more than appreciated!

Thales
    Last edited by Thales Isokrates; October 20th, 2017 at 20:30.

Blog Entries
    I don't play Ars Magica, so take that into account. So, comparing your options, here's what I think / how I would go about it;

CoreRPG vs. MoreCore - I wouldn't spend time on CoreRPG, from what I know, MC outperforms Core.

d20/5E variant, if the AM rules are very similar, then that might be a good consideration, but it doesn't sound like it so I don't think you would get the benefit of much of the 5E automation by switching over.

That leave the AM ruleset, MC and Roll20 as your first set of things to evaluate.

Looking at MC vs Roll20, with either of these you are going to lose the automation you seek, so I don't see any benefits to Roll20 over MC. So I'd keep MC as the preferred solution between those two.