STAR TREK 2d20
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Newbie question about creating my own module and ruleset

Hello,

My friends and I use the Masterbook system to play a game that has been going on for years. As life does it gets in the way and now we all live too far away from each other to play fact to face. I would like to try and bring that system onto Fantasy Grounds. I do not plan on distributing it or breaking any laws with this endeavor. Can someone point me in the right direction as to where to get the information or guides that would show me how to recreate the Masterbook system here? I am very new at this so i apologize if this question is unclear. Id appreciate any help, direction or advice you could provide. Thank you.

What a coincidence. I happen to be doing the same thing right now with Torg (which if you know your history is the daddy of Masterbook, as well as, Savage Worlds).

Programming this type of ruleset would be extremely difficult and time consuming even to someone experienced with making a ruleset; which I am. There are just too many requirements for user input and combat moves and such that need to be accounted for in order to make a clean and easy combat script mechanic. Perhaps it could be done, but it would be a huge headache.

So, instead of doing that, this is what I am doing.

Start with MoreCore. Use the /rollon feature which allows you to link a table into the character sheet and roll on it simply by clicking the entry in the character sheet. Then make tables that duplicate the exploding die capability of the mechanics.

Like this:

Attachment 18271

Use other features of FG and MoreCore to help with other aspects of the core mechanics of the game. It won't be fully automated, but it can be handled and played. MoreCore FTW.
    Last edited by vodokar; March 18th, 2017 at 04:29.
    Ultimate License Holder GM

Games currently Playing: AD&D, DCC RPG and D&D 5e

Finished Projects: AD&D Ruleset
    New School NPC Maker 5E