5E Product Walkthrough Playlist
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Extensions. Where do i start?

So to start i am not a computer guy. At all. I dont want to be. I like Fantasy Grounds because my group now can play almost every week instead of twice a year. Its awesome! But i am not good with computers. At all.

So, i wanted to create my own campaign using Savage worlds rules. All i want to do is customize the background, the side bars and chat window. (The savage worlds ones are a little to pulpy) Then id like to create several custom Edges and Hindrances. Seemed easy enough.

So i started with Jeff's Excruciatingly Simple Extension Tutorial for Fantasy Grounds (Part 1). On page 4 he said i need to go to an online XML Tutorial before i read on. So i did. That tutorial said i needed to do tutorials on HTML and JavaScript before i continue with that Tutorial.

So now im looking at about 3 hours of tutorials before i can take the tutorial that will qualify me to take the tutorial. This seems like a lot just to learn how to change a skin and add a couple house rules. Am i going about this the right way?

Blog Entries
    There are so many different extensions that can be written. Jeff's Excruciatingly Simple Extension Tutorial starts you off on creating a dialogue/window interface. Many extensions dont require this. Changing a graphical look of the desktop is one of the easiest extensions to write. I suggest you have a look at some of the existing themes (try some here: https://www.fg-con.com/free-downloads) and pull them apart and see how they work.
    I dont use Savage Worlds but I believe that the Edges and Hindrances would be done in a Module but I could be wrong. Basically I think they are two different tasks.