5E Character Create Playlist
Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last

Displaying mass and length units according to SI

I'm new to FG and even after browsing through the wiki I cannot seem to find an answer to the following question:

Is there a way to display weight/load in [kg] and speed/radius/etc. in [m]?

Thank you

Hi Alduin,

No, not easily. Fantasy RPGs have traditionally used the Imperial system for measurements, and so FG generally defaults to that.

I'm currently working on an Extension which will allow the GM to define any measurement system they want and to convert automatically from one system to the next, but its a fair way off yet.

May I ask why you'd like to use the SI system? Is their a particular RPG that you're playing that uses it?

Oh, and Welcome! to the Community

Cheers
    Dulux-Oz

√(-1) 2^3 Σ Π
    ...And it was Delicious!

Alpha-Geek
    ICT Professional
    GMing Since 1982
    NSW, Australia, UTC +10
    LinkedIn Profile: www.linkedin.com/in/mjblack

Watch our games on Twitch: www.twitch.tv/dulux_oz

Support Me on Patreon: www.patreon.com/duluxoz

Past Games, etc, on my YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/c/duluxoz

I'm playing ol' good D&D, but I'm not used to work with imperial units (why?! Why do you insist on using weird units?! ). Either I used translated books in the past or simply made my own equipment spreadsheets.
    I was simply wondering if there was the option to use SI units, since at first glance it does not seem a big deal to convert units before printing them on screen.
    It is no big deal anyway, I'll patiently wait for your Extension

Quote Originally Posted by Alduin Starborn View Post
    imperial units (why?! Why do you insist on using weird units?! ).
    I suppose two reasons - (1) RPGs were primarily invented in the USA, and the USA uses Imperial measurements, and (2) Fantasy RPGs are normally set in the past, so using "old" Imperial Units helps the flavour of those olden times.