5E Character Create Playlist

Ruleset layering summary?

Hey all,
    I've been reading about the new merge functionality in 3.0 and wanted to run a few questions by you, and maybe hopefully round up some of the information I've read in various different posts into one place as well as get some clarification on how this feature works so those learning about 3.0 can have a starting point. I can update this post to reflect the info that is provided, if you all agree that that is helpful. Or, if this is all found somewhere else and I've merely overlooked it, please point me in the right dir!

I am a newbie to fiddling around under FG's hood, so some of what follows may elicit facepalms from the more experienced among you. I ask for your patient forebearance! :P

The release notes say:
    Developer - Ruleset Layering

• Ruleset layering support added via use of importruleset tag within base.xml file. Higher layers override lower layer objects (font, framedef, windowclass, template, etc.). Lower layers will be checked for files referenced in higher layer, but not included in higher layer.
    • Attribute merging supported in templates.
    • New merge attribute supported by controls and templates. Applied at referencing layer, and overrides mergerule attribute used at referenced layer.
    • Valid control/template merge attribute values are: merge/join (default), add, resetandadd, replace, and delete
    • Valid panel/windowclass merge attribute values are: replace (default), join, and delete
    • Valid die/customdie merge attribute values are: replace (default) and delete
    • When merging windowclass objects, nested scripts are supported. (i.e. accessible via super variable, similar to controls)
    • When merging windowclass sheetdata, the name attribute will be used instead of the tag name for matching.