Starfinder Playlist

Feng-Shui and open-ended dice

I'm new to this, so new that I don't have FGII yet. I was thinking about how hard it would be to write a ruleset for Feng-shui. Most of it would be fairly straight forward addition and subtraction of modifiers and or skills, as far as I can tell.

Only problem I see would be the standard resolution die, because I spent some time yesterday looking in this forums for how to build open-ended dice and I know it can be done, because at least Savage worlds has it in some form, only I have no clue about how or how useful that would be in this context. The fact that you use two, one positive and one negative (different coloured) open-ended dice could be solved by making them as different custom dice as shown in an example using d4s, somewhere in these forums.

So how hard would it be to write the code for a die-pair of one positive and one negative open-ended d6 to be rolled together?
    Obscurum est absentis lux lucis. Ego sum lux lucis!

Open-ended dice rolls (both low and high) are used in the Rolemaster ruleset as well.

The amount of work required to build a ruleset varies widely depending on how customized you want your ruleset to be. If you just want to make minor changes to an existing ruleset, it's going to be easier than building a ruleset with completely new character sheet, dice rolling behavior, combat tracker, etc. You will need to make modifications to XML files and/or LUA script to make any ruleset changes; so you should be comfortable with tinkering to do what you want, and any programming background will help. That said, the community here is very helpful, and you can post your questions here.

At it's core, FG can be used as a virtual tabletop to write notes, roll dice and chat. That's really all you need to play a game online, but all the other features in most rulesets are nice to have for that particular game system.